You are here

Spring 2017 Graduates

Please join us in congratulating our ten Spring 2017 undergraduate mathematics graduates. Pictured with Ross Chiquet and James Kimball are (from left): John Miller, Alyssa Bienvenu, Kevin Morgan, Lauren Eddy, Nicholas Pryfrom-Day, Marina Ledet, David Browning, Daniel Schexnider. Graduates not pictured: Bailey Ross and Fathi Derbel. Click on the photo to enlarge.

Alyssa Bienvenu is the Spring 2017 College of Sciences outstanding graduate!

Math students estimate attendance at King's parade

A team of researchers from the University of Louisiana at Lafayette who attended the city’s recent Mardi Gras King’s Parade wasn’t interested in catching beads or doubloons.

It was after data.

The group of four, which included students and postdoctoral researchers, fanned out along the parade route. The floats rolled from near the intersection of Jefferson, Surrey and Simcoe streets, and ended near Cajun Field. The researchers walked along the entire 4-mile route.

Math and Stat Awareness Month Lecture

Our Mathematics and Statistics Awareness Month special lecture features Dr. Daniel Zelterman of Yale University. The title of his lecture is An Introduction to Early Stage Clinical Trial Design. Visit our Mathematics and Statistics Awareness Month webpage to view an abstract and some information about the speaker.

This nontechnical lecture starts at 4:00 in the Oliver Hall Auditorium. Please join us at 3:30 in the Oliver Hall lobby for refreshments.

You are here

Mathematics Association Competition Winners

Several of our sutudents and faculty attended the Louisiana Mississippi sectional meeting of the Mathematical Association of America on 16-18 February 2017 at Millsaps College in Jackson, Mississippi. Two of our students placed first in student paper/presentation competitions. Alex Fontenot placed first in the undergradute student paper/presentation competition. The title of his talk is Characterizing the Behavior of the Difference Equation x_n+1=(ax_n+b)(mod 1) (Ross Chiquet served as Alex's advisor).

Fall 2016 Graduates

Please join us in congratulating our ten new undergraduate mathematics major alumni. Pictured with Ross Chiquet are (from left): Austin Hasen, Cameron Theriot,  Johnathan McCardell, Drake Menard, Kyle Hebert, Clint Crail, Brianna Lawson, Morgan Griffin,  Trevor Anderson, and Abhinav Chand. Click on the photo to view all ten.

You are here

You are here


Subscribe to Department of Mathematics RSS