You are here

Math Team Wins at MAA Section Meeting

The Louisiana/Mississippi Section of the Mathematical Association of America (MAA) held its annual meeting, February 29 – March 2, 2024, at the Sheraton New Orleans Hotel in New Orleans. More than 150 undergraduate students from across Louisiana and Mississippi joined together in their shared interest in mathematics and its applications. Nine students and three faculty from the Department of Mathematics represented UL Lafayette at the meeting. Student participants representing both mathematics and other College of Sciences departments were Aidan Babineaux, Sydney Francois, Joshua Hebert, Jaci Lynch, Quintyrica "Quinn" Pierre, Chasy Dupont, Taylor Russell, and Allison Zanyk. Mathematics faculty participants were Dr. George Turcu, Mr. Joshua Fontenot, Mrs. Christy Sue Langley, and Dr. Jimmy Kimball. The weekend offered plenary talks covering a wide range of mathematical topics, such as coastal sustainability, data science, flexible filaments in fluid, and the "hardest logic puzzle ever." Students also had the opportunity to compete in various mathematics competitions and present their research.

Jimmy Kimball, Mathematics Instructor and Assistant Department Head, spoke on "Student Success in Entry-Level Mathematics Courses Amid a Sea of Change". Christy Sue Langley, Mathematics Instructor And Peer Advisor for Knewton Alta, joined Dayna Leaman, Wiley Senior Digital Learning Executive, and Grace Bush, Associate Digital Learning Specialist at Knewton Alta, in a discussion of "Redesigning Your Math Curriculum with Coreqs, Planning, and Practice".

(Team members with advisor (L to R): Aidan Babineaux, Joshua Hebert, Allison Zanyk, Scott Whitman, George Turcu)

We are proud to report that our Mathematics Department team, consisting of Scott Whitman, Aidan Babineaux, Joshua Hebert, and Allison Zanyk, won first place in the Student Team Competition.

We are also proud to report that our Mathematics Instructor Christy Sue Langley was honored as the recipient of the Louisiana/Mississippi Section 2024 Distinguished Teaching Award.